Teka teki Detektif (17)


“I’m telling you, Hobbs,” said John Dough, “inheriting the Dough millions has had some nerve racking moments. Do you remember Frack, the butler?”

“A smiling and mild mannered chap,” said Hobbs

“That’s the guy. I fired him after inheriting the house in the Hamptons. Well, two days ago he came to my office and demanded one hundred thousand dollars. He claimed to have been in the study when my father drew up another will, naming his brother sole heir.”

“You believed him?”

“I confess the news was quite a shocker. Dad and I had an argument over Marilyn sometime during the last week of June. Dad opposed the marriage, and it seemed possible that he had cut me off.” Continue reading

Teka teki Detektif (16)


Detective Palumbo had just ordered a drink at the bar in the Tahoe motel when a young man with sun-bleached golden hair and tanned cheeks sat on the stool beside him.

After ordering a scotch and water, the sunburned man nodded toward the gaming tables. “My name is John Patmos,” he said genially. “It’s great to be back in civilization and hear people and money talking out loud.”

Palumbo introduced himself. “I guess you’ve been out in the desert?”

“Yeah, I got back yesterday,” said Patmos. “Washed the dust out of my ears, had a barber shave off my seven months of whiskers and trim my hair. Then I bought a whole wardrobe on credit. All I had to do was show my assay report. Boy am I going to celebrate.” Continue reading

Teka teki Detektif (15)


Detective Hobbs was on his way to the big Detroit auto show when he decided to visit his old friend, Dr. Sam. At Sam’s home he was shocked to learn that just two days earlier his long time friend had hanged himself.

“Sam was in excellent health and spirits when I heard from him last week,” Hobbs told the sheriff. “I can’t believe he committed suicide.”

“But he did—I investigated it myself,” said the sheriff. “Here’s how it all happened.”

“Pete Porter, Sam’s manservant, was returning to the house late that night when he spotted a light in the attic. As Porter got out of his car, he saw through the open attic window Sam knotting a rope around his neck. The other end was tied to a rafter. Then he saw Sam calmly kick away the small stool he was standing on, and that was the end. Continue reading